Staff & Experts


John Hostettler
Vice President
John Hostettler
Vice President

The Honorable John N. Hostettler is the Vice President for Federal Affairs for States Trust. He served in the U.S. House from 1995 to 2007 representing Indiana’s Eighth District.

Since leaving Congress, Hostettler has launched a publishing company, Publius House, and authored two books. He also founded the Constitution Institute, which holds seminars throughout Indiana teaching about the U.S. Constitution.

An engineer by training, Hostettler graduated from Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology in Terre Haute, Indiana with a degree in mechanical engineering. With his high school sweetheart, Beth, he has four children and has recently celebrated the births of his first few grandchildren.

Zoë O’Herin
Director of Federal Affairs
Zoë O’Herin
Director of Federal Affairs

Zoë O’Herin is the Director of Federal Affairs for the Texas Public Policy Foundation where she is the Foundation’s face in Washington, DC.

Most recently, O’Herin served as Legislative Director to a member of Congress and the Executive Director of the Congressional Constitution Caucus.

Before her time in the U.S. House of Representatives, O’Herin served on the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary managing a wide issue portfolio.

O’Herin graduated with honors from The University of Arizona with a BA in Philosophy and Political Science. She received her JD from Case Western Reserve University School of Law. While in law school, she worked as a summer associate in constitutional studies at the Cato Institute and a law clerk at the Institute for Justice. O’Herin spent her 3L year at George Mason University School of Law.

O’Herin is a member of The Federalist Society and a Leonine Forum Fellow.

Ken Oliver
Senior Director of Engagement and Right on Immigration
Ken Oliver
Senior Director of Engagement and Right on Immigration

As Senior Director of Engagement and Right on Immigration, Ken Oliver is at the center of the landmark Texas Public Policy Foundation initiative that highlights and champions policies that secure the border, restore the rule of law and fix and improve legal immigration to the United States.

In tackling this task, Ken is leveraging the full range of his previous experience as a successful coalition-builder in the conservative movement, public diplomacy professional and bilingual communicator. Prior to joining TPPF, Ken was founding director of MRC Latino, the Media Research Center project that challenged liberal dominance and rhetoric of U.S. Spanish-language media, particularly on immigration-related issues.

Most of Ken’s career has been divided between his native Washington, D.C. and his mother’s homeland of Puerto Rico. In Washington, during President George W. Bush’s administration, Ken served as Special Assistant to the Director of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, as well as White House Director of Specialty Media. Ken is also a former program review analyst at the Voice of America and news editor at the NBC Radio Network.

In Puerto Rico, Ken served as Special Assistant to former Puerto Rico Governor Luis Fortuño, Assistant Secretary of State and Special Assistant to the Administrator of the Puerto Rico Economic Development Administration. He is also a distinguished, award-winning journalist having worked for Caribbean Business and the island’s leading daily newspaper, El Nuevo Día.

Ken and his wife, Zenaida, have two sons and live in Reston, Virginia.


Marc Levin
Vice President of Criminal Justice, Right on Crime
The Honorable Chuck DeVore
Vice President of National Initiatives
The Honorable Robert Henneke
General Counsel & Director, Center for the American Future
Jacki Deason
Senior Fellow, Life: Powered
The Honorable Jason Isaac
Senior Manager and Distinguished Fellow, Life: Powered
David Balat
Director, Right on Healthcare
Derek M. Cohen, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Effective Justice and Right on Crime
Caroline Espinosa
Deputy Director of Right on Crime
The Honorable Kathleen Hartnett White
Director, Armstrong Center for Energy & the Environment & Senior Fellow, Life: Powered
John Koufos
National Director of Reentry Initiatives, Right on Crime
Thomas Lindsay, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Innovation in Education
Brent Bennett, Ph.D
Policy Analyst, Life: Powered
Rod Bordelon
Distinguished Senior Fellow in Regulatory Reform
Shae Cali
Senior Fellow, Safe Streets & Second Chances
Michael Haugen
Policy Analyst, Right on Crime

Stay Updated!